3 comments on “Filmmaker Quote of the Week #1

      • Perhaps, I can be abrupt, and it might also be off-point by targeting two gallery artists as opposed to film makers. They were simply the first two people I thought of in relation to Tarkovsky’s quote. But what do you mean by their “condition”? The human condition? Or that they create art out of some worthy despair?

        I’m merely highlighting this section from Tarkovsky’s quote: the error in thinking that “any personalised action is of intrinsic value simply as a display of self-will”. I would suggest both Hirst and Emin’s art is indicative of personalized action (E.g. Emin’s bed full of used condoms and tampons [“look at me, I’m a grot and I’ve had a multitude of shitty, one-night stands”], Hirst’s rack of diamonds [aka. “look how much money I have, I can buy diamonds and hawk that as art”]), “value of the individual for his own sake” without the second part of Tarkovsky’s quote to qualify as truly great art “serving a higher communal idea” and “a timeless and insatiable longing for the spiritual”

        There is nothing spiritual or in service of humanity in either Hirst or Emin’s art, their art exemplifies the void, meaningless and death and at best is either narcissistic or empty. There is nothing in their work in search of “the meaning of existence “, their work is about the meaningless of existence.

        I’m not saying their perspective is necessarily incorrect, I’m saying I prefer the goals for art in Tarkovsky’s quote. To me the search for meaning is an inherently worthy pursuit, and is not an impulse reflect in either Hirst or Emin’s work.

        Admittedly I’ve offered my criticism of them in a rather negative and ugly fashion, but with the amount of money they both draw in I very much doubt they’ll lose sleep over my suggestion.

Leave a Reply

